Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Canvass of June 7, 2016 Primary Election

The Cass County Board of Supervisors met as a Board of Canvassers to canvass the June 7, 2016 PRIMARY ELECTION with four members present: Gaylord Schelling, chair; Charles Rieken, Frank Waters and Mark Wedemeyer.

The Board proceeded with the canvass of the TALLY LISTS of ballots cast. After inspection of the returns, the following results were determined: (*Declared Nominated)

(*Declared Nominal	REPUBLICAN	Votes	DEMOCRAT	votes
U.S. SENATE	Charles E. Grassley Scattering	1,403	Thomas L. Fiegen Robert M. Hogg Patty Judge Bob Krause Scattering	23 56 164 31 0
3rd Dist U.S. REP.	Joe Grandanette David Young Scattering	157 1,300	Desmund Adams Jim Mowrer Mike Sherzan Scattering	53 110 108 0
10th Dist STATE SEN	Jake Chapman Scattering	149	Matt Paladino Scattering	29
20th Dist STATE REP	Clel Baudler Scattering	164 1	Scott Heldt Scattering	29
21st Dist STATE REP	Tom Moore Scattering	1,210	No Nominee Scattering	8
Dist. 1 SUPERVISOR	* Stephen S. Green David R. Jones Dale Retallic Scattering	169 62 55 0	No Nominee Scattering	7
Dist. 4 SUPERVISOR	Rocky Anderson Ryan Askeland * Steve Baier Todd Hansen Nick Hensley Barry Moore Scattering	19 128 170 31 48 30 2	Dana Kunze Scattering	52
Dist. 5 SUPERVISOR	J. Ford Lillard Bernard Pettinger * Frank Waters Scattering	84 65 191	No Nominee Scattering	10
COUNTY AUDITOR	Wendy Richter * Dale Sunderman Scattering	766 900 0	No Nominee Scattering	34
COUNTY SHERIFF	* Darby J. McLaren Scattering	 1,556 17	No Nominee Scattering	24

{Write-ins receiving less than 5% of the ballots cast are listed as 'Scattering'. See official canvass for detail for write-in candidates. Write-ins for office with no candidate on ballot must receive minimum of 35% of the total received by all candidates last time party had candidates on the ballot (IA CODE 43.62). Published results of a primary canvass are confined by law to candidates nominated and offices designated to have no nominee IA CODE 43.62).}

Chair declared the canvass completed and authorized the Commissioner of Elections to forward the appropriate abstracts to the Secretary of State and party chairpersons and to place the County nominated candidates on the 2016 GENERAL ELECTION ballot. Chair adjourned canvass. /s/- Gaylord Schelling, Chair Attest: /s/- Dale State of the Chair adjourned canvass.

Attest: /s/- Dale Sunderman, Auditor