Utility Board Meeting Minutes

For August 18, 2014

The Atlantic Municipal Utilities' Board of Trustees met in regular session August 18, 2014, at 5:30 P.M. in the Municipal Utilities' offices.

Present: Chairman Lawrence Turner; Trustees – Joyce Jensen, Frank Greiner & Keith Stork

Physical attendance by all members of the Board was impossible or impracticable for this meeting. Pursuant to Iowa Code section 21.8, participation by Joanne Lorence occurred electronically.

Absent: None

Also Present: Steve Tjepkes, General Manager; Jennifer Saathoff, Board Secretary; Greg Smith, Director of Electric Operations; Jon Martens, Director of Water Operations; and Dana Halder, City Council Representative

Chairman Turner called the meeting to order.

Trustee Stork moved, seconded by Trustee Greiner, to adopt the meeting agenda. All ayes.

Trustee Greiner moved, seconded by Trustee Jensen, to approve the monthly consent agenda. All ayes. The consent agenda included approval of prior meeting minutes, filing of monthly reports, and approval of bills.

General Manager Tjepkes updated the Board on the restructuring of the operations center including the proposed agreement with the Cass County Communication Center for call handling, fencing contract adjustments, and improvements to SCADA.

General Manager Tjepkes lead a discussion on financing options for upcoming W/S #3 plant improvements and Solar Turbine control system replacement.

General Manager Tjepkes updated the Board on Generation & Power Supply, WAPA purchase power rates, MISO Attachment O Rate Adjustments and Inquiry for a Prospective Ethanol Plant. Director Smith went over what the electric department is working on & Director Martens discussed what has been going on in the water department.

Chairman Turner asked if there was any old or new business to discuss.

There b	eing no	further	business,	Trustee	Lorence	moved	to then	adjourn,	seconded 1	by Trustee
Greiner	. The me	eeting w	vas adjouri	ned at 7:	15 P.M.					

Lawrence E. Turner, Chairman

Attest:

Jennifer M. Saathoff, Secretary