Section Navigation

athena-awardDeter Motor Company will be sponsoring the 16th annual ATHENA Award in Atlantic, Iowa.  The award will be presented to an exceptional individual who has achieved excellence in her/his business profession, has served the community in a meaningful way and has assisted women in their attainment of professional goals and leadership skills.  Deter Motor Company believes in the values underlying ATHENA’s philosophy of incorporating talent and expertise of women into the leadership of our businesses, our communities and our government. The spirit of the ATHENA Award Program is captured in a quotation from Plato, “What is honored in a country will be cultivated there.” By honoring exceptional leaders, others will be encouraged to excel.

The ATHENA Award was first presented in 1982 in Lansing, Michigan and has grown to include presentations to more than 6,000 individuals in hundreds of cities across the globe. Locally, past winners include Kathie Hockenberry in 2016, Lanette Plambeck, Pat Markman, Dolly Bergmann, Wendy Richter, Ann Pross, Janell Hansen, Jan Kinison, Carole Schuler, Glenda Farrier, Margaret Slepsky, Denise O’Brien, Leanne Pellett, Judy Marnin, and LaVon Eblen.

Nominations are now being accepted for the award, which will be presented on Saturday, Jan. 14th, 2016 at the Cass County Community Center. Those interested in nominating an individual can pick up a nomination packet at the Atlantic Area Chamber of Commerce, 102 Chestnut Street, by visiting or by clicking here to print. Nominations are due by December 2nd, 2016 at noon at the Chamber Office.