Mental Health Office

Mental Health Office

Business Hours: Monday – Friday | 8am – 4:30pm | Subject to Cass County Holidays

Cass County Community Services Director:

Debbie Schuler

Cass County Courthouse
5 West 7th Street
Atlantic, Iowa 50022

(712) 243-4424
fax: (712) 243-6666

The Southwest Iowa Mental Health and Disability Services Region (SWIA MHDS) services a nine (9) county area in the beautiful rolling hills of the most southwest corner of Iowa. The geographic area includes the counties of Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, Page, Pottawattamie, and Shelby in the State of Iowa. The region’s plan is designed to improve health, hope, and successful outcomes for adults in the region who have mental health disabilities and intellectual/developmental disabilities, including those with multi-occurring substance use issues, health issues, physical disabilities, brain injuries, and other complex human service needs.

It is the vision of SWIA MHDS to mindfully, relatively and responsibly serve the residents of our region. With respect and dignity for all people being the center of our approach to providing and funding services we will strive to offer choice based on individual need. As funding is available, we will develop services for unmet needs working closely with stakeholders to enhance people’s options within the region.

The Southwest Iowa MHDS Region has six office locations including Cass County.  You may contact any of the offices for information regarding the SWIA MHDS Region.

For information and referral you may directly contact the Service Intake Coordinator at 712-328-5812.

For more information about the region and resource connections please go to the following Southwest Iowa MHDS Regional website:


Crisis Call Line
(844) 673-4469