Annual Dinner & Community Awards


The Atlantic Area Chamber of Commerce will host the Annual Dinner Saturday, January 12th, 2019 at The Venue.

The Chamber invites the entire community to the Annual Dinner and Awards. All the accomplishments of 2018 will be highlighted along with the great sponsors, volunteers and community members.

Successful businesses, organizations and individual leaders in the community will be honored for their commitment and support of the Atlantic Area.  A Nomination form will be available closer to the awards.

18th Annual ATHENA Award sponsored by Deter Motor Company

Deter Motor Company sponsors the annual ATHENA Award in Atlantic, Iowa. The ATHENA Leadership Award, developed through a grant from W.K. Kellogg Foundation, identifies eight distinct attributes that are reflective of women’s contributions to leadership: living authentically, learning constantly, advocating fiercely, acting courageously, fostering collaboration, building relationships, giving back and celebrating. These personal traits are more intuitive to women and combined with the strongest aspects of traditional leadership–taking risks, assertiveness, hard work–prepare women to be successful leaders in the 21st century.

Over 7,000 recipients around the world have been honored with the ATHENA Leadership Award since the program launched in 1982. Presented to leaders, women and men, in the professional sector, the ATHENA Leadership Award is one of the most prestigious leadership awards one can receive–and Atlantic is one of the few communities in Iowa with an active ATHENA Leadership group.

Nominees must meet each of the following three criteria:

  1. Demonstrate excellence, creativity and initiative in their business or profession
  2. Provide valuable service to improve the quality of life for others in their community
  3. Actively assist women in achieving their full leadership potential

Local recipients include: LaVon Eblen, Judy Marnin, Leanne Pellett, Denise O’Brien, Margaret Slepsky, Glenda Farrier, Carole Schuler, Jan Kinnison, Janell Hansen, Ann Pross, Wendy Richter, Dolly Bergmann, Pat Markham, Lanette Plambeck, Kathie Hockenberry, Dr. Tressa Wilcox and Heather McKay.

Nominations are now being accepted for the award, which will be presented on Saturday, January 12th, 2019 at The Venue. Those interested in nominating an individual may click on the form below. Nominations are due by Tuesday, October 30th at 5 PM at the Chamber Office.

Download ATHENA Nomination Form

ATHENA Networking Group Leadership Scholarship

The Atlantic ATHENA Networking Group have a scholarship to the Iowa Women Lead Change (IWLC) Conference in Des Moines in November. The scholarship will be given to a woman who is interested in improving her leadership skills while in college or in her career.

The IWLC Conference will be held November 6th & 7th in Des Moines. It will include speakers Cy Wakeman, Elias Johnson, Gale V. King, Geena Davis, Jeannette Walls, Jeffery Tobis Halter, Joanne Lipman, Sabrina Ahmed and Stedman Graham. Past conferences have included introductions by Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds.

Interested applicants, or those interested in nominating an individual, can click on the nomination form below. Forms are due by Friday, September 28th, 2018 to Dolly Bermann at or the Chamber office.

Download ATHENA Leadership Scholarship Nomination Form

2017 Awards

ATHENA Award Recipient: Dr. Tressa Wilcox

Distinguished Service Award: LaVon Eblen